Digging Deep into your Characters

Hey There!

First of all, I want to announce to everyone that Forgetting Jane’s audiobook is available. CJWarrent_Forgetting JaneEither go to Amazon or Audible.  Thank you!

Now, it has been a crazy for while with three/four projects going at the same time. Luckily, I have two done, with one nearly finished and the fourth just getting started.

So, are you asking me how do I keep all my characters in line? Good question!

Well, just to tell you it wasn’t easy for me in the beginning. I’m such a pantser and run a few stories at a time that it took me a while to get a grip on all my characters. But I have found a way.  Like plotters, they plot the story from the beginning to the end. I do the same thing to my characters.

man-164962_1From the time they were born to the point of where the story ends. I write about their family, how they grew up and what made them tick. I get into their looks, their good and bad habits and their hates and loves. Who broke their hearts and what drives them to destruction or success–both being equally important. It helps with the internal conflicts, which links their outer conflicts. I dig deep until I find every piece of my character. Until I know them so well that I have no doubt when I establish them on the pages. For example, my character in Forgetting Jane, Chief Elias McAvoy. He was the biggest pain in my arse to find things out from. However, I kept at him until he opened up and…Wow! Once he did, he ended up to be such a great character.

Some characters are more fiery than others in which takes me more time to understand them and their growth in the story. In every story I always one character that gives me trouble. They would hide until I have to trick them out to get what I want out of them. Yet, I do have to say, once I have them nailed down, the story flows so well. I just need to write faster but that topic is for another blog time.

Without my knowledge of my characters, I feel like i’m stuck in a quick sand with no possibility way of escaping the dreaded corners or those horrible writing boulders that stands in my way. So I feel for me, plotting out my characters are worth the time and effort–even if your a pantser or plotter. There are tons of character plotting sheet available online. Do what is best for you. Maybe it would work for you. It doesn’t take long. Just a few minutes and jot down a few things about your troubled character and see what you can come up with!

Thanks for stopping by!

Smoochesth-1

CJ

Leave a Reply

